Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Juried Show and Awards

I know it sounds like a cliché, as I'm sure I've said it before, but I truly swear our shows get better and better every year. This year we had a trio of judges for our juried show which was an interesting concept.

We had lots of prizes, with amazing monetary and merchandise awards, to hand out. Everyone was looking forward to seeing who the winners were.

It was a dark and stormy night! The rain was so intense at times we really feared it might keep folks away from the reception, but no indeed. The guests were hardy souls and I think we had more at this reception than in any previous. We always provide plenty of food and wine, but by the end of the evening the table was nearly bare. Best of all, of  course, was seeing the awards given out. Alas a couple of our winners could not be with us, but most of them were there. So here they are - our President Cindy Pierson handing out the prizes for this year's winners for our juried show:

People's Choice - Rebecca Pasko for "Someday"

People's Choice - Paula Willits for "Silent Vigil"

Merit Award - Renee Fauré for "Ending Softly"

Merit Award - Betsey Hogan for "Guana"

Merit Award - Leticia Hubbard for "Sunrise New Mexico"

Merit Award - Lynn Wilson for "Marshes of Indian Pass"

Third Place - Wendy Devarieux for "Talquin"

Second Place - V. Christi Shatzel for "Wave Break"

First Place - Janelle Wagoner for "On the Edge"

Best in Show - Lyn Asselta for "Trailside"

Congratulations to all our winners. Another wonderful show. Stay tuned here for posting of ALL the entries in the show. We have a lot, so I may have to break it up into two or three posts. :-)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.